Open Mic at Quays Pub: Astoria

I am obsessed with open mic nights. So when my friend invited me to open mic night at Quays Pub I jumped at the opportunity. Typically, I prefer to go by myself and fool people into thinking I’m a talent scout by sitting in a corner and taking notes, but I figured going with a group would be just as fun.

The crowds of young, drunk people usually drive out bar flies on open mic nights. Lucky for us, the bar flies of Quays Pub stuck around and performed. Among the stars was a toothless Paul Shaffer doppelganger and a singer whose drunken croons ranged from Billy Joel to ACDC.

image

I got so caught up in open mic night that I totally forgot to tell you about Quays Pub. Bad, Sally! I have lived in Astoria for 5 years and have never heard of Quays Pub. I am really upset about this. Why, world?! Why have you been keeping Quays Pub from me?! This cozy bar has tin tile ceilings, a faux library and smiling (Irish!) bartenders. It’s just perfect for an after work drink, or in my case, an after no work drink.

Leave a Reply

